Home : City Guide : Provinces

Gansu Province


Gansu is located on the upper reaches of the Yellow River, in a region where the Loess Plateau, Inner Mongolia Plateau, and Qinghai-Tibet Plateau meet. It is one of the birthplaces of Chinese nationality and its culture.

The province covers an area of 425,800 square kilometers and has a population of 26.0334 million. Gansu province has under its jurisdiction 12 municipalities, 2 autonomous prefectures and 86 counties. Its plane figure shows a dumbbell-like shape, with 1655 kilometers from east to west and 530 kilometers from north to south. Gansu can be divided into six different parts according to its terrain and geomorphologic structure, namely, Longnan (south Gansu) mountainous area, Longzhong (central Gansu) Loess Plateau, Gannan Plateau, Hexi Corridor, Qilian mountainous area and the areas to the north of Hexi Corridor. Mountains, plateaus, plains, valleys, desert and Gobi desert criss-cross here.

Its land resources consist mainly of 30 per cent of mountains, 30 per cent of grasslands, 20 per cent of sands, 10 per cent of forests and 10 per cent of fields. Gansu extends across the valleys of the Yangtze River, the Yellow River, and inland rivers with a total annual volume of flow of 60.3 billion cubic meters. Its average annual precipitation is 300 millimeters and annual evaporation 2800 millimeters.

There are 45 ethnic minorities in Gansu, among which Yugu, Dongxiang and Bao'an nationalities are exclusive to the province. The province has Gannan Tibet Autonomous Prefecture and Linxia Hui Autonomous Prefecture as well as 7 autonomous counties.

Gansu has a long history, splendid culture, colorful minority customs and beautiful natural scenery. There are 43 cultural relics under state protection and 526 cultural relics under provincial protection. It has places of interest such as Mogao Grottoes, "the world's art treasure house"; Maijishan Grottoes, "the museum of oriental sculptures"; Jiayuguan Pass, "the most strategic pass under heaven"; and Mount Kongtong, known as "the first famous Taoist mountain". In addition, Gansu has places like Qin'an Dadiwan ruins in Tianshui city which is much earlier than Banpo ruins; Fuxi Temple, the birthplace of Fuxi, who was the first ancestor of human studies that created characters and calendar; the White Pagoda Temple in Wuwei city, the witness place of Tibet's inclusion in China's territory; the bronze galloping horse unearthed in Leitai, Wuwei city, which is the symbol of Chinese tourism industry.

The province has a collection of 420,000 pieces of cultural relics kept in museums, among which are 3300 pieces of first class cultural relics, 30 pieces of national treasures. Gansu province also has 8 state-grade natural reservations, 11 forest parks, and 3 scenic spots.

Main Cities of Gansu


    Zhangye is a town that has lost much of its former glory. It lies about 450km...

    Linxia Hui Autonomous Prefecture is seated in southwest-central Gansu Provinc...

    Situated in the middle of Gansu, Lanzhou is the capital of this province with...

    The pass is located at the narrowest point of the western section of the Hexi...

    Jiuquan, or "Wine Spring" , is a major stopover on the "S...

    Located near one of the legendary cradles of Chinese civilization. Tianshui h...